20th March 1986 – Trying the Duran’s houses (again)

From 4.30pm onwards

Today, Thursday, we organised a meeting. Me, Sylv, Rae and Anna (who we had met at the BBC a few weeks back) decided to tour around the Duran’s houses.

We went to what we thought was Andy’s house near Sloane Square.  Turns out it isn’t his. Then we went to John’s in Knightsbridge and as we walked past his window his mum and dad were watching tv so we just stood at the end of his road for a bit.

Then we went to Nick’s in Fulham. We bought a box of Ferrero Roche chocolates and stood outside Nick’s house from 7.30 til about 9.30pm. Then we decided to tie Rae’s silk pink scarf round the choccy’s and give them to him. But he had dinner guests so we waited. And waited. Then when more guests arrived the door opened and we saw Nick coming down the stairs!!! Then I saw Julie-Anne washing up at the window.

It was a great night! We ended up hanging the chocolates over the gate by the silk scarf, with a note on it and Rae’s phone number!!!

NOTE ABOUT THIS ENTRY

First of all I found it funny that I had written ‘from 4.30 onwards’ at the top of this entry – just in case my parents saw it and thought I had ‘bunked off’ school! We used to be pretty good. I hardly ever took time off to go and see Duran. If I wanted to during school time I always asked my mum and got her permission. Other friends usually didn’t tell their parents. Sometimes where all nighters were pulled, to see Duran coming out of clubs or parties, ‘staying at Michelle’s’ was often used to get them permission to be out! I never went to these all nighters I have to add. I just let friends use me as an excuse. I was always too scared to go out beyond 10 o’clock to be honest!

On John’s birthday in 1986 a couple of friends went to John’s house as he was apparently having a party there. These friends had to hide as there were apparently police cars crusing the streets.  (John lived in an area where there were many celebrities, George Michael lived around the corner. This sometimes meant there were clashes of fans – the Duranies against the Whammies!) Where did they hide when the police drove by? Under parked cars! I remember them coming back to my house on the first tube the following morning, stinking of petrol and really filthy! But the grins on their faces as they recalled being outside John’s house on his birthday meant it was worth it!

Oh and Ferrero Roche chocolates were, we thought at the time, the most sophisticated chocolates and that sophisticated Nick Rhodes would be overjoyed at receiving them.  And Julie-Anne washing up? I don’t believe I actually saw that but I must have done.  And why did we think in leaving a phone number that Nick would pick up and call one of us?? The naivety of us teenage girls is laughable now!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

