27th March 1986 – Back to Nick’s house, AGAIN!

Thursday – from 5.30 onwards.

Today we decided to go to Nick’s house again. This time we found out that Simon and Yasmin were there. And we waited and waited and waited and saw Simon, Yasmin, Nick and Julie-anne walk out of Nick’s house and into a taxi!!!

They didn’t see us, or they did but just ignored us. But they looked gorgeous. Simon and Nick’s hair is now BLONDE. They all looked brill and I was nearly crying. We were going to go to EMI but it was late so we didn’t. We reckon they must be discussing Duran getting back together.

Anyway we chucked a teddy bear over the gate wrapped up really nice and an Easter card. It was great tonight. We are the only ones who have seen Nick and Simon and know they are making decisions on D2 getting back together.

NOTES ON THIS ENTRY

This was a great occasion for me. Seeing Simon close up! I’d seen him on the Wogan show of course. But this was CLOSE UP! Although we were hiding behind cars when we saw them. I always felt uncomfortable going around their houses. But this, at the time, was often the only way you would get to see them. And when we got braver, as following diary entries will show, we actually TALKED to Duran and ASKED them what they were doing and where they were going!

I of course had no idea what they had got together for. I said that they were getting together to discuss Duran – they could have just been going out as friends for a meal somewhere for all I knew! I do remember telling some fans that we had seen Simon and his hair was blonde and they didn’t believe me. (Simon had been very dark for a while). And once again a present was deposited over the gates. A teddy bear this time – along with an Easter Card. Looking back I wonder why we bought these pop stars presents. I mean I was a 15 year old school with barely any pocket money yet I was spending whatever I did have on silly trinkets for a band that could quite easily afford my little gifts 50 times over! We all did it at the time. It was in the hope that they would keep it forever! When in all actuality said gift would go in the bin/charity shop/understairs cupboard never to be seen again!

Oh and to make it quicker to write I always used to write Duran Duran as D2 – like Duran squared……..

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

