Saturday April 5th 1986 – Three Duran’s Houses and Three Types Of Weather

We went to Nick’s house again. We were the only ones outside his house and a nice looking limo and a nice looking chauffeur pulled up. So Rae asked him who he was picking up. The chauffeur said. ‘Just him’.

Anyway we waited a while, with cameras and then Nick came out. His hair is now gingery blonde. Rae said ‘Hi Nick’ and he said ‘hello’. He looked like he had just got up as he had dark glasses on and everything.

Nick Rhodes House 1986

Nick's House in Fulham 1986

We then went to John’s and his mum came out. She said ‘You can’t stay here today girls, sorry. We’ve had a bit of trouble here lately with some fans. Sorry.’ So I asked ‘What Duran fans?’ But she just said ‘Just fans’. I said under my breath ‘probably Whammies’. So she waved to us and said goodbye.

Then we went to Pinner. It was snowing, sleeting raining – everything it could chuck at us. Simon was in and we were cold and we hoped he would come out but he didn’t.

NOTE ABOUT THIS ENTRY

My comment about Nick looking like he had just got up is probably right. After going to see Duran for a while we all quickly cottoned on that Nick wasn’t an early bird AT ALL! If a car had come to collect him at 2 o’clock – chances are he HAD probably just got up! And he was never very talkative when you first saw him – I suppose because 2 o’clock in the afternoon was HIS early morning!

This was also the first time we met John’s mum. We also met his dad too over the years. They were always lovely to fans, as were all the Duran parents that I have met. I remember walking towards John’s street one day with another friend – chatting away oblivious to the gentlemen walking towards us. As he passed he chuckled. I turned and he waved – it was John’s dad! We obviously had the look of a Duran fan, he knew where we were heading! He always had a twinkle in his eye, did John’s dad. He had a lovely sense of humour.

Me outside Simon's parents house in Pinner, Middlesex Summer of 1985

Me outside Simon's parents house in Pinner, Middlesex Summer of 1985

I had been to Pinner before,  in the Summer of ’85. That summer we had managed to get an address for Simon and went there a few times to see if we could find him. This wasn’t actually Simon’s house, but his parents. His house and milkman had been on a tv show earlier that year called The Late Late Breakfast Show. Noel Edmond’s interviewed ‘Les The Milkman’ – and chatted to him about the fans constantly coming around. When we went there in the summer of ’85 Les the milkman was doing his rounds. I wrote in one of my Duran scrapbooks about it. I put ‘Went to Simon’s house in Pinner and met Les the Milkman. He let me deliver Simon’s milk and even take the empties back!’ I even got Les’ autograph! Bless!

Going to Pinner was a trek and a half. My journey would nearly always start at Mile End tube station on the central and district line. This was in the east end of London. Most of Duran lived in South West London. Most of the tv studios and recording studios were West or South West  London. My tube journey’s were normally at least 50 minutes long. And to get to Simon’s parent’s house from Mile End in 1986 could take several tube changes and hours! I put on here a map of the tube from around 1985 so you could see the distances travelled. Thank god for very cheap train fares those days.

We used to battle all kinds of weather in those long days trying to meet a member of Duran. It was one of those days that we could have quite welcomed Simon opening his front door and letting us warm up and dry off. That wasn’t that rare an occurence. I have heard several stories from fans about Simon letting them in for a chat and a cuppa. Sadly, that day didn’t happen for me and my wet cold friends. We just trundled back home having not properly met a member of Duran yet. Defeated again!

(The reference to Whammies was to Wham fans. Back then there was a rivalry between most bands fans! George Michael lived round the corner from John, and sometimes fans would do something to wind other fans up and vice versa. I remember going to John’s once and there on his white garage door was the lipstick traces of writing slagging John and Duran off and that Wham! was better! I am sure some Duran fans reciprocated with their own daubing too!)

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

7 responses to “Saturday April 5th 1986 – Three Duran’s Houses and Three Types Of Weather

  • Alison English

    What I want to know is how you knew where Nick & John lived when you’d never met them? I can understand you having Simon’s address cos they printed it in No. 1 mag, which was annoying cos me & my mates & gone to Pinner & did detective work to find his address! We even went to Pinner church & met Mr Turvey, Simon’s choirmaster!

    • thedurandiaries

      Hi Al! I remember having a penpal in Birmingham who sent me their addresses up there and one for Nick in London. I think that we went to Nick’s, found other fans who told us the other addresses. We went to lots of WRONG addresses too. LOTS! xx

  • Kirsty

    There is always someone who knows the addresses.
    I got three addresses (John, Nick, Simon and the one of his parents in Pinner) from a girl I met during the Strange Behaviour Tour in Germany.

    When I went to London for the first time in my life in summer 1987 I found out the address of Nick was wrong, also the address of Simon was wrong, at John’s I met two other fans and one of them knew the correct address of Nick. We both went there the next day. She didn’t know the address in Pinner, so we went there too.

    In 1987 we did not meet anyone as the guys were still on tour in the USA then.

  • Oma

    What kind of house was Simon’s parent’s house? I mean was it smallish or biggish, detached, semi-detached? I’ve never really been able to tell from the pictures. 🙂 I’d always heard his parents actually lived next door to each other, being divorced, was that true?(Although didn’t his mother live in Clearwater, Florida at some point?–I don’t know I’m now remembering bits and pieces of these things I remember hearing and possibly not remembering them correctly. 😀 )

    • thedurandiaries

      Hi, I am not sure about if Simon’s parents lived next door to each other – that isn’t something I recall I’m afraid. I know that Ann Le Bon did have a place in Florida and apparently she lived on the south coast of England too – but I am not 100% on that! As to the house in Pinner – it was a typical 1930’s semi detached house with bay windows and probably 3 bedrooms. It was in a lovely quiet suburban street where everyone probably knew everyone including the name of the postman and the milkman! (Les was the name of the milkman…..heh heh) Thanks for your comments though….it’s nice to take a trip down memory lane isn’t it? 🙂

  • Jane

    Hi Michelle! I’ve just discovered your diaries and am enjoying reading them so much it takes me right back to my teenage days! I grew up in the Midlands (half hour from Birmingham) and used to ‘hang around’ the fan club on Broad St (met Nick there) and visit their parents in Hollywood and Castle Brom, where we were lucky to meet Roger. Sometimes we’d venture down to London as well, seeing Simon in Pinner, and Andy and Roger at JT’s, but not him.

    I kept a diary of our adventures back then, but unfortunately know longer have it, I have to try and remember things. Reading yours is certainly bringing back memories of my own duran days. Also wondering if I ever met you, I knew so many fans back then (pen pals), and we all seemed to know each other or knew someone who knew someone, if that makes sense. Great reading

  • thedurandiaries

    Hi Jane! Thanks for posting about my diaries. I can only apologise that it has taken me so long to reply. I wonder too if we met, we probably did! It is shame you have lost your diary, Mine is really falling apart so I really should carry on and update this blog before it disappears completely! Thanks for reading them x

Leave a Reply

