April 8th 1986 – Let’s See If John’s In!

TUESDAY AFTER SCHOOL

Today we went to John’s house and after waiting for a bit he came out!

He leant on his brown Aston Martin car and said ‘What you lot doing here?’. No one spoke! So I said ‘ Waiting for you Mr Taylor!’ I tried to speak sarcastically but it turned out really posh sounding! Then I took loads of pictures and John said ‘I’m going now’. So Sylv said ‘Wait! Can you sign something? Please!’. And JT just smiled and went ‘COME ON THEN!” So I have now got his autograph. Then he asked ‘What you lot doing now then?’ and I said ‘Taking more pictures of you, John!”

It was brill! He was really nice to us  and walked straight out of his house and started talking to us! He was so great to us we will be going back tomorrow!

John outside his house taken 8th April 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS No use without prior permission

NOTE ABOUT THIS ENTRY

I remember this day so well! I was wearing black leggings, black top and a black coat. I had red socks on and black suede loafers. I went to the local shop to John’s house before we got to his street and bought a Lucozade and a Twix bar. Why do I remember this so much? Because for the next few days I had to wear/do the same things as I had that 8th of April – it was LUCK! That way it was guarenteed we would see John again!

A lot of fans had some kind of ritual to perform so they could see Duran. If you were a smoker and you were hanging around, you lit a cigarette so that when they it had burnt halfway down they were bound to turn up! Or like me you wore something lucky or stuck to a routine. I remember for the next few days I had to get roughly the same time tube. Go to the same local shop. By the same drink and chocolate bar. After all  – this was the first time I had actually SPOKEN to a member of Duran.

The addiction had began!

(NOTE ABOUT THE PICTURE: John’s hair was very long then and no blonde streak! He was wearing leather trousers and boots with what looks like a bit of a heel on them. He looked like he had just woken up – but this must have been around 4.30pm as this was around the time we would have got there from school!)

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

