12th May 1986 – Simon talks about Drum on Wogan

MONDAY

Wogan again. Simon is on there to describe his boat journey. I didn’t get in this time but Rae and Anna did. They said it was a great show and he told the audience that Andy hadn’t left Duran.

Simon had the same coloured socks on as I had, PURPLE! He looked brill and said that the best thing was getting back to Portsmouth to see all the people waiting for him.

I told Sylv what exit to wait at but she didn’t realise and she didn’t come which made me miss Si getting into his car. I was flung onto the passenger window by people. I must admit I cried, I was hurt and worked up. I missed him because of Sylv. I COULD HAVE KILLED HER! But I forgave her.

We are going to try to see the 9 1/2 Weeks premiere with John and possibly Simon.

NOTE ABOUT THIS ENTRY

I can’t get over the fact that Simon was booked on a chat show literally hours after arriving back on his boat! He had come in at around 5am day before and there he was – on Wogan already! I also can’t believe I had the energy to travel to Shepherds Bush to go and stand outside again so soon after staying up all weekend. Oh to be a teen again!

I remember feeling pleased that Simon had mentioned that Andy hadn’t left Duran. It was bad enough for me to have started to go and see Duran and Roger, who had been a favourite of mine, had left. It comforted me that only one member of Duran had left. Well we found out more about Andy as the months went on!

I love the fact that I had to note that Simon and I were wearing the same coloured socks! I had a thing about brightly coloured clothes. Bright colours were, let’s face it, the fashion of the 80’s. I used to mix my colours so much.

Travelling to see Duran

Travelling to see Duran. Amazing colours!

This pic is taken on a District Line train in 1986.

I am wearing my favourite lilac silky jacket. I loved that jacket. Big shoulder pads and sleeves you could scrunch up your arms. White top. Light blue leggings. These leggings were ribbed I do remember. Also back in those days most of the leggings you bought didn’t contain much – if any – lycra. Therefore if you sat down too long you got ‘knees’ in them. They looked ridiculous then.

I remember one night at a sleepover my friend Rae had a brilliant pair of black and white striped leggings on. When it came to going to sleep, she didn’t want to take them off. So she slept in a chair, with her legs propped on another chair, so not to get ‘knees’ in them! All night!

I had white socks on this day, presumably to go with my white jazz shoes. You had to have jazz shoes in the 80’s. I think I had a black pair too. And I am cleverly hanging an umbrella off my foot. I was dressed for summer, but obviously had learned to expect all kinds of weather!

When Duran came out of TV shows there were quite often not just Duran fans waiting outside but people that had been to see the show too. I had obviously hung out outside with other fans whilst Sylv and Ana went in to watch the show. But by the time Simon had decided to come out, the audience from the show had left too.  That meant even more chaos! I said I was flung on the passenger window. You did used to get jostled and shoved about. That was par for the course. But I doubt that my crying was anything to do with getting hurt, although it probably did hurt! It was probably more to do with the fact that I didn’t get to see Simon!

It was emotional going to see them. Sometimes you would be hanging around for hours on end, getting tired and hungry and bored. So when you missed seeing them after all your effort it got upsetting! After a few more weeks of hanging out waiting for Duran in the coming months, I soon got used to hardly seeing Duran, and making friends instead!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

One response to “12th May 1986 – Simon talks about Drum on Wogan

  • Anne

    carry on! I think it is cool to see what it would’ve been like if I’d lived in London. I’m sure i would’ve followed them round too

Leave a Reply

