28th May 1986 – Someone’s in Trouble in Pinner

Wednesday

Went to John’s house and Simon’s again. At Simon’s there was this girl called *Amanda. (She’s been to boarding school and apparently been expelled and she runs away from her dad). *Amanda was there with her friend and she was frightened. Her dad was trying to find her as she had left school again without permission.

Then her dad drove up and barged up to Simon’s house. He banged on the door and demanded to see him. He got let into the house for about 20 minutes or so.

This pic was taken outside Simon’s house the previous summer. COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

Then Simon came out. He didn’t look happy. He told us to move on. He said ‘Thanks for coming girls but i’ve got a lot on my mind’. So we said ‘Bye’ then he said ‘I wanna speak to you two’ to *Amanda and her friend. We moved down the street a bit.  He talked to them for about 20 minutes, kissed them and waved them off in *Amanda’s dad’s car!

I know that she was unlucky to have an experience with her dad like that but I sure would like to meet Simon and get all the trimmings!!!

NOTES ON THIS ENTRY

(I changed the girls name to *Amanda – in case she reads this and doesn’t want to be named!)

This is something that members of Duran must have had to deal with occasionally – an irate parent. This girl should have been in school – I think she was a boarder – and her dad was angry. How her dad knew where Simon lived I don’t know!

Having to deal with a parent who was obviously distraught about his daughter meant that Simon had to have a good level of maturity to cope.  (Simon was around 27 years old.) I suppose he could have passed the buck to someone else in his house – I think his parent’s where in. But he dealt with it brilliantly.

I can’t imagine what Simon said to calm her dad down when he was inside the house, but I assume he was told that his daughter had to stop coming to see him and go back to school. He was talking to her dad for around 20 minutes inside and left him inside whilst he came out to talk to *Amanda and her friend.Whatever was said must have worked because I didn’t see her around much again!

Funny that I wished I was the one in trouble so I could get ‘all the trimmings’! That meant a cuddle and a kiss – nothing more as I wasn’t that type of girl!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

2 responses to “28th May 1986 – Someone’s in Trouble in Pinner

  • Anne

    That lucky girl!

  • kaz

    Mimi, I love these diary entries, they are such fun and so vividly written makes me feel like I was there. When I was a teenager I imagined doing all the things you actually got to do, its such a blast to read them. You lucky duck!
    Keep writing them!
    Kaz

Leave a Reply

