23rd June 1986 – Westside Story Part 1

MONDAY

WEST SIDE AGAIN!

God it was brill! I took my Rum Runner book and Nick said to me ‘Where did you get this?’ So I said ‘Ah well – it’s a secret!’ He then signed it to me. Then John, who was wickedly staring me out, looked at my book. So I said ‘Do you want to sign it too?’ So he said ‘It’s Michelle, isn’t it?’ so I said ‘Hey you remembered!’ Then he said ‘No! I read your chain!’ So he signed it too.

Nick's autograph from that day.

Nick's autograph from that day. Signed in a rare 1981 booklet. COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

John's autograph from that day in the rare 1981 booklet. COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

Before signing it Nick said to John ‘Look John, how old it is!’ At the book. (They’ll probably recognise us next time.

It was brill. BUT *Tina got run over by JT’s wheel, he was really shaking and upset. It was sad to see. *Tina was fine though.

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY

The booklet I got signed that day is one of the most precious bits of memoribilia I have left from Duran. I have it signed by all five members of Duran – albeit at different times! Nick and John in 1986, Roger Andy and Simon in 2004! I have sold a lot of my other memoribilia to afford to go to gigs! This is one that I will NEVER part with.

It is funny because Nick and John discussed the booklets age back in 1986 but then it was only a few years old. They seem to think it was ancient! And it was a secret where I got it from. I met some girls from Birmingham back when Drum came in in Portsmouth and they came to London to try and meet Duran with us. To thank us for getting them to meet John and Simon they said they would send me some things from the Rum Runner – and that book was one of them.

The secret was that the Rum Runner was being knocked down and the girls I knew could get into the building. It the disused nightclub, was a whole bunch of Duran memorabilia. ust laying around on the floor. I think there were negatives of Duran from backstage at the Rum Runner, posters, flyers and compliment slips. (Who knows where they are now!)  I got the booklet plus a very rare centre of a Duran record that didn’t actually get pressed. (Which I have now lost!) I couldn’t let on where it came from, I didn’t want to get anyone into trouble! Maybe John was ‘wickedly staring me out’ because he thought I was a thief????

I was so happy when John said my name like he remembered me! I felt so chuffed! So when he said he read it from my necklace it was a bit of a blow I can tell you! I so wanted them to remember me by name. They knew the’known’ fans names and I just wanted to be one of them. (I used to love my name chain!)

John didn’t really run over *Tina’s foot. He nearly did and she milked it! He was horrified and terrified at the same time. All colour drained from his face and he shook like a leaf. I think that she would have needed the hospital if a tonne weight Aston Martin rolled over her foot! But she just walked away afterwards.  I thought it was mean at the time, she got a hell of a lot of attention.

The Birmingham Hyatt is now on the spot where the Rum Runner once stood, fact fans!

*Name changed

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

3 responses to “23rd June 1986 – Westside Story Part 1

  • DD

    Ah this entry brings back so many memories… I ‘broke in’ to the Rum Runner with Sam and other B’ham fans and it was fab – I ‘stole’ a green disco lightbulb and cherished it for years, which seems utterly ridiculous now. The original DD fan club was in a room at the front of the club (obviously added on after their early fame) and it was almost abandoned with DD catalogues, comps slips, badges and fan club memorabilia all over the floor. The coolest part was the original circles in the walls where DD had an early photo shoot (Andy and Nick with frizzy bleached hair) so we all had our pix taken in there. RE the ‘run over’, I told my dad who ran it as a gossip story and that fueled the furore over it too. Ah, fun memories xx

  • Anne

    More great memories! Keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

