24th June 1986 – Westside Story Part 2

TUESDAY

WESTSIDE!

JT came out with Renee and he was a bit moany. I got a photo signed for Sylv and that was about it with him.

Nick was lovely. He got talking to me about how I pronounce my name. ‘Meechelle, Meeeeeechelle’ etc etc. Anyway he signed a piccy of him for me and he was really cute. Chris gave him Rae’s book to sign. There was a pic of him with Andy. HE DREW ON ANDY!! He drew on some glasses and stuff! So I told him ‘You are gonna have to graffiti yourself too you know’. And he did. He put ears and a hat on himself. It was a right laugh today.

Nick catching flies at Westside 1986

Nick catching flies at Westside 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

(PS My cat Tut-Tut died today)

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY

Quite a short entry again.

John being a bit moany probably just meant he was knackered! Renee was always sweet to us, so I didn’t write anything about her.

I remember Nick ‘graffiti-ing’ Rae’s picture though. Sometimes, if you were lucky you got a bit more than an autograph from Nick. He would add a little doodle or something. But this was a full scale graffiti assault on a picture of Andy! I think this was a sign of what Nick felt about Andy at the time. (It was still not official that Andy had left. In fact we thought he WAS coming back. Everyday we expected Andy to join the rest of the band in recording the new album. It wasn’t until a few weeks later that we got the definite information that Andy indeed was leaving.)

So Nick gave Andy’s picture a makeover with some glasses and a beard. At the time I thought ‘Rae’s going to be so annoyed’ as Andy was Rae’s favourite Duran member. Luckily she thought it was funny when I gave it to her next time I saw her. I think she did have a pretend go at Nick though the next time she saw him. She would have one hell of a bit of memorablilia in the future though! A one off piece of graffiti art by Nick Rhodes!

Nick was saying my name in a over the top cockney accent! He said it for a few minutes. ‘Meeechelle, Meeechelle’ taking the mickey out of  the way I speak! In fact I hated my east London accent. I thought that I was quite good at NOT having one! Obviously not. Although Nick wasn’t one to talk, with his sometimes very broad Brummie accent. I was probably just pleased he was saying my name, in whatever way he liked!

My little PS about my cat is quite sad. Tut-Tut was my cat and I was so upset when he died. Going to see Duran took my mind off the fact that he wasn’t well. It helped me get over the grief if you like. Seeing Duran and therefore seeing my friends was like seeing a grief counsellor for me!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

