27th June 1986 – West Side Story Part 4 – Hide and Seek

FRIDAY

WEST SIDE! (AGAIN)

Simon, John and Nick all arrived in JT’s Aston Martin. JT and Nick got out of the car together and they were chatting to us.

Then Simon got out of the car. He was looking for Sam who kept hiding from him. He was so sweet to her. She kept running away from him!

I got his autograph and gave him a pressie to which he said ‘Thanks’.

Simon was really sweet but only really nice to the people he knows, but he didn’t really notice *Tina and he used to always chat to her……

PS Jo2 thinks she’s right in with the ‘known fans’ now because she slept round Jo1’s house last night.

Nick and I at Westside 27th June 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONSJohn and Simon Westside 27th June 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

Simon and John at Westisde 27th June 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY
It didn’t happen that often that the three of them arrived together in one car, not that often that the one car was John’s either. (It was always suprising if his brown Aston turned up as it always seemed to be breaking down!)
Simon had a great relationship with certain fans. With Sam she quite often used to ignore him and wind him up and I think they enjoyed that kind of relationship! That day they were chasing each other around the car park! I said that he didn’t notice *Tina that day. I must have noticed that *Tina wasn’t getting the usual attention. Duran did have their favourites….the ‘known fans’ as I called them!
I had given Simon a pair of silver earings. I think they were sleepers and one had a charm of the Eiffel Tower on. I didn’t really give gifts often. I thought it was a bit pointless as for One I couldn’t afford it and Two – they COULD afford to get their own gifts! But I remember loving these earrings and thought that Simon would to. We shall see later if he did!
I didn’t seem happy about the girl I  called Jo2 did I?. There was Jo1 who was a ‘known fan’ and Jo2 who was a recent addition to our little crowd. We started becoming a group of ‘known’ and ‘newly known’ fans, I suppose.  Jo1 must have invited Jo2 around for a sleepover and I was obviously not that happy about it! I mean – I had known Jo1 longer than Jo2! I felt that she should have intivted me round her house. I think a touch of jealousy here!
I put three pictures in this entry all from the 27th June 1986. I love the pic of me and Nick – shame it’s over exposed and a bit blurred. But you couldn’t check those days with film cameras! I used to love that shirt, white with pink roses all over it. The one of Simon you can see the said shirt next to him. I think that’s when I gave him the earings. The pic of John is a funny one. The girl next to him was an Italian fan who was getting hysterical and over emotional. You can tell that from the fans reaction behind. You sometimes got a fan that went a little bit over the top. I think I have written about a fan’s reaction to Simon in Oxford Street further along in the diary. I think John was quite calm about this one and just tried to get inside the studio’s as quick as possible!
Oh and in the pic of me and Nick – I’m snarling/smiling! I might rechristen that look Sniling!
About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

