28th June 1986 – You Saw Me Standing By The Wall

SATURDAY

WEST SIDE!

Simon came first and he sat in the shade by the wall. I sat next to him. I asked him if her liked the earrings that I gave him yesterday. He said he couldn’t wear silver. He said he liked them though.

I had a photo done with him sitting down. He put his arm around me and leaned his head on my shoulder. It was sooooo sweet. Then I had another taken standing next to him. He put his arm around me and I put mine around him!!! God he’s gorgeous!

Nick and John were nice too. They signed my old D2 fanclub book. I got a ‘X’ from Nick and a ‘X’ from John too. It’s the first time JT has ever put a kiss on my autographs…..

SIMON IS GORGEOUS!!!!!

Simon Le Bon and me. Westside Studios Jun 28th 1986 You saw me sitting by the wall.....COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONSSimon Le Bon and me. Westside Studios Jun 28th 1986 You saw me STANDING by the wall.....COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY

I was really disappointed that Simon couldn’t wear the earrings. Do people have a problem wearing silver? I mean – isn’t Tiger Baby silver? I’m sure I haven’t heard of an allergy to silver before. Maybe he was just being polite and just didn’t WANT them!

So it got me to thinking that Duran must have received a steady stream of gifts throughout the years that of course may not be to their taste. So they would have to have a few ‘go to’ phrases to be nice when receiving something they didn’t really want. Like ‘I can’t wear silver’ for mine for instance. I would imagine that most celebrities have an allergy to boxes of chocolates, or home made cakes for instance! They apparently go straight in the bin fact fans! You never know what a fan can put into an edible gift! (And I don’t even WANT to think about it!) I know from John wearing the t-shirt we had previously bought that sometimes clothes and scarves, that type of thing would get used. I don’t think I gave a member of Duran a gift again after this. I was mortified that it wasn’t wanted. (sob!)

I do believe that in ONE of these pictures I am GENUINELY smiling. Not Sniling at all! (see previous entry!) I was one happy bunny on this day. Not only did I get some cuddly pictures with Simon – I got a kiss from John! Albeit an autographed one. But that was enough for me.

I know that there will be some people that I know now that will read this entry disbelievingly as I am not known to gush about Simon! But it did happen. I was smitten. I think that if you read the next day’s entry – THIS WILL CHANGE!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

5 responses to “28th June 1986 – You Saw Me Standing By The Wall

  • Anne

    What a great day! You were so lucky! In an attempt to make you feel better, a silver allergy is rare but silver jewelry contains nickel (to make it harder) which is a much more common allergy. The tiger baby necklace maybe an expensive piece made of platinum or white gold which are hardened by palladium that does not cause any allergies.

  • Simone

    I actually have an allergy to silver earrings, but not necklaces. My mom to both! Turns green, sometimes infected. So, Mimi, maybe he was telling the truth. xoxo

    • thedurandiaries

      Thanks for your comment! It seems that it is a common problem and after all these years I feel better that he could have actually genuinely liked the gift but been allergic to it! Thanks Mx

  • Rhonda

    LOL – I was going to tell you the same thing about the silver, Michelle. Simon is allergic to nickel, which is a common additive in silver. It’s not a common allergy (but it’s the most common metal allergy). The tiger baby necklace he had probably wasn’t silver (I can tell by the finish) and, and even *if* it was, it likely had a rhodium coating, which helps keep the silver from tarnishing, and would also keep the nickel from reacting with his skin. My son Gavin has a HORRIBLE allergy to nickel. His reactions are so bad that I have to even coat the snaps on his denim jeans and things like that if they come in contact with his skin…so no, Simon wasn’t lying to you. (and as a self-confessed less-than-fan of Simon’s, I have to tell you that even MY cold heart melted at your picture with him here. :D) xxoo – Rhonda

Leave a Reply

