30th June 1986 – I Said It Wouldn’t Last!

MONDAY – WEST SIDE

Hello!

Well. Simon was a right moany bastard today! He wasn’t very happy and Korin and Rocks told us it might be in the papers what he was upset about, something that’s ‘Not to do with the band, or personal’. So God knows.

Don’t know what JT was like as I went to see Nicky Baby today!

He took the piss out of my accent. I said

‘Nick, can you do me a favour?’

‘Favour? Favour?’ he kept repeating it in my accent! Anyway I got his autograph for Carmela. He also did me a doodle. It went (here I draw a little sketch of what looks a bit like a mask). God knows what it is a doodle of though!

Nick is sooooo Nice! I don’t like Simon. I like NICK!!!!

Nick at Westside Studio in a playful mood taken June 30th 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

NOTE ABOUT THIS ENTRY

Oh the fickleness of a teenage girl! Liking Simon on Saturday, then Nick on Monday. No doubt it’ll be John on Tuesday. Then back to Simon again next week. John the following month……..

I remember that my favourite Duran member changed all the time in the first year of following them. I suppose I got to know them a bit in that year and every woman is entitled to change her mind! I know that before I went to see them I loved Roger. Then Roger ‘left’ so that changed to Simon. Then later on after I had met Duran a few times, John became my favourite. The truth is that as a teenage girl, I liked whatever member of Duran was the nicest to me that day. Simon was nice to me on Saturday so he’s my favourite. Nick was nice to me on Monday, so he’s my favourite.  If they weren’t very pleasant that day, like in this entry , then out of favour they went. It amuses me the complete contrast between my previous diary entry and this one. Just two days before I LOVED Simon. He was GORGEOUS. Now this entry – ‘I don’t like SIMON I like NICK’.  Like I say. The fickleness of teenage girls!

So Nick was my Duran of the Day! And once again he was mocking my accent. I wonder what I must have sounded like then? A little cockney girl on helium I imagine. I wish I had a recording of me then. Then again. Maybe I don’t!

Korin and Rocks were Nick’s roadies if you will. Rocks (that’s a man!) would set up and test Nick’s keyboards in the studio and on tour. (as far as I know!)  I am not too sure what Korin (Rocks girlfriend) used to do, I think help Rocks?  We all used to talk to them quite a bit at the studios. They must have got quite bored sitting around all day waiting to twiddle Nick’s knobs(heehee) so they would often come out and chat to us.

I wonder who my Duran of the Day will be in my next entry???

(I can’t recall what Simon was upset about that day – but Korin and Rocks said it would be in the papers. It may have been something to do with Drum, the yacht that he had just sailed in. I can’t remember. Again, if anyone has any info on that, let me know!)

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

