July 30th 1986 – Seeing ‘The Rivals’

Maison and the BBC

Went to see Simon John and Nick go in and then went to see Spandau Ballet at the BBC. They are doing TOTP. (Top of the Pops)

We got in finally and they were great. Especially Gary Kemp. He was really nice and remembered my name.

I also saw Chris De Burgh (who did Lady in Red) and the DJ Mike Read. We nearly got caught in the BBC at first. We ran around trying to find places to hide. We ran into some toilets and Doris and Lorraine from 5Star were in there! We had photo’s done in the toilets!!! It was really funny!

Good day. Brill day in fact. Gary Kemp was soooooo nice. So was Steve Norman. Rae got her photo done with her favourite Spandau, John Keeble.

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY

Oh-Oh I hear you think. She defected to the enemy! NO NO NO! A few of the fans that followed Duran used to go and see Spandau too. One day I just tagged along – when they were on Wogan. The same fans went to see them doing Top Of The Pops so again I tagged along. I mean, Duran were in the studio’s and not coming out for HOURS, so it was something to occupy our time. I would go and see Duran when they went into the studios, then go and see Spandau somewhere, then jump back on a tube and see Duran come out of the studio’s. We didn’t tell Duran who we had been seeing though! That is how it started off, as a way of occupying the hours in between when Duran entered a studio – early afternoon – until they left – around 10 o’clock at night. Duran were still the band that I wanted to go and see, but I used to like going to see Gary Kemp too.

I was really chuffed that Gary Kemp remembered my name. After all I had only met him briefly once before. I had met Duran quite a few times and they had not once remembered my name! Gary was a really lovely man and we came from around the same area of London so we had quite a bit in common. I used to go and see Spandau but not talk to anyone else in the band except Gary really. My first concert was actually a Spandau Ballet one that Christmas 1986…….but that’s a different story!

Gary Kemp and I at the BBC July 1986

Gary Kemp and I at the BBC July 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

This was another day that we had not been legitimately let  into the BBC. I am not sure if this was a ‘run under the barriers at the front of the BBC’ entry or a ‘climb over a fence at the back of the BBC’ entry! We had been chased around again by the security guards otherwise known as the Commissionaires and ended up this time hiding in the toilets, where two of the girls from 5Star happened to be! I can’t believe that we had asked them for a photograph. In the loo! And they said yes! I remember seeing the picture afterwards and in it was the girls from 5star, us girls and some toilets in the background! I don’t have that picture unfortunately. I hope someone still has it somewhere!

I know this blog is called the Duran Diaries, but I did say I will mention other celebrities that I met along the way…..this entry hardly mentions Duran at all! Sorry Duran fans!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

One response to “July 30th 1986 – Seeing ‘The Rivals’

  • Jane

    All I can say is, I too remember going into the BBC, once thru the gate at the front, and I remember that fence round the back. Also one year, in 1984 when DD were on Superstar I think, John Craven came out the front so me and my friend started saying ‘John, John, naturally all the duranies thought we meant John Taylor and John Craven did have an amused look on his face when they all came rushing over. Happy days! Thanks for bringing back memories for me

Leave a Reply

