19th/22nd August 1986 – Need Some Air Studio’s

Tuesday 19th

Being trapped at Air Studio’s ain’t much fun but when Simon spots you in a crowd and says ‘Hello, How are you?’ What can I say? I was in pain! But I just said ‘Oh, I THINK I’m ok!’

Nick and John came together. They didn’t seem very happy. They were OK.

Nick at Air Studio's. The Awning was Burger Kings! COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Friday 22nd

Today, some girl told John that the shirt he was wearing was weird. Then he got in his car. I tapped on the window and mouthed to him, ‘I LIKE your shirt!’

He rolled down the window and said ‘Ta’! Then started to roll it back up. Then said ‘I like you too!’

My God. Whatever next?!

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY

Duran were now at Air Studio’s for a few days. They went back and forth as far as I can tell between Abbey Road and Air Studios in the next few weeks. Air Studio’s is a MAD place to have a studio. It is on London’s Oxford Street and next door to a Burger King and a few shops away from Top Shop’s largest store. It was MAD! People doing their shopping, tourists, traffic and a band recording an album. A great recipe for madness! Simon also used to use the tube to get to the studio and get off at Oxford Circus. Sometimes he would walk down the street and have a crowd of people just walking behind him, in awe that Simon Le Bon was casually walking down one of London’s busiest streets.

I remember one day Simon casually strolling along from the direction of Oxford Circus tube. I was sitting on the floor outside the studio’s just watching. A girl holding lots of shopping bags was strolling along, walking towards Simon. At first she did not notice him, she was chatting to her friend next to her. Then she looked straight ahead, saw Simon and all hell broke loose! She flung down her bags and ran full pelt towards Simon! She jumped onto him going absolutely bonkers! It was scary and funny at the same time! I remember everyone trying to pull the girl off him and get him into the studio’s safe. That must of been really scary for Simon as none of us obviously did that sort of  thing. At the studio’s he was used to a handful of fans being calm and acting normal. This was an unknown person, flinging themselves at him. It must have happened all the time, but that was the first time I had witnessed such a frenzy!

John and I had a funny kind of  banter back in those days. You will see that as time goes on in these diaries. He would say things that would obviously cause friction between other fans. I mean, when he said that he ‘liked me too’  I was in full earshot of other fans. That meant that I was probably gossiped about and bitched about too. Such was the nature of the Duran fan! But I was extrememly flattered! John and I used to be sarcastic to each other a lot in those days. And now too, to be honest. I am very sarcastic and John can be very cutting too. It made meeting him even more interesting, as I love a good banter!

 

 

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

3 responses to “19th/22nd August 1986 – Need Some Air Studio’s

  • kaz

    love it, John’s little favourite! Can’t imagine John being sarcy, always though of SLB as the sarcy one!

  • Simone

    I’ve noticed John’s sarcasm. Like saying one fan was paranoid this am and another telling them not to be daft. Lol. Yes can you imagine a few years previous for DD with women screaming and freaking out and throwing themselves literally?! Totally trapped wherever they went. Must have been awful and I always think of poor Roger having to leave the band because of the mania!

Leave a Reply

