26, 27, 28 August 1986 – You Say Duranie, I say Duran Fan

Abbey Road

Tuesday

Today was Okay. John wore my shirt again but it had a stain on it. He gave me a lovely big smile today! Maybe coz he saw I was pissed off. (Coz S*** turned up).

My favourite shirt - AGAIN! August 1986 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

They kept going back and forth today. Nick went out and did the shopping. They all came out with wives/girlfriends to go and see Julie-Ann and the E-Bab. Then they came back. Then John and Renee went out. Renee was lovely. I said ‘Baa’ like the way I say Bye and she went ‘Baa’ back!

John was in a great mood today. I cheered Nick up a bit by asking after Julie-Ann not the E-Bab. Simon was normal!

By the way we were told that……

The baby has Julie-Ann face.

Nick’s lips.

Has tufty brown hair.

Weighed 8lb 11oz.

And Julie-Ann and baby Tjarner, Tatjana (don’t know the spelling!) are doing well!

Wednesday

Steve Ferrone turned up! I love him! I told him I never did get a drumstick from him so he is going to give me one. He slapped my bum and tickled me before going in.

Today I never saw Nick but Simon was OK. He was being pestered by this girl called D***** – a girl who thinks she knows everything about Simon.

John was lovely! He walked up to me and said ‘Heeellllo’ breathing all over me. Had a photo done. Lovely day!

Thursday

Today Steve gave me drumsticks. He gave them both to me but I gave B***** one of them.

Simon was lovely today. He signed autographs and had pictures done, me and B**** had our done together. He was really lovely.

John, however was in a foul mood. Rae burst into tears like a Duranie because she couldn’t get near John and she is soooooo upset about Andy. SOB! He just went into the studio’s. Boring. We all have our off days I s’pose!

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY

I put these three together as it was the last days of Abbey Road. As you can see there was lots of too-ing and fro-ing over these few days as Julie-Ann had just had Tatjana and the band and girlfriends were visiting. It was nice of someone to let us know what the baby looked like wasn’t it!? It’s amazing that Nick didn’t have any real time off because the baby had only been born a few days before but he was back in the studio! Workaholic!

(I called babies E-Babs back then as you can see. There was a phase of talking in a silly language called ‘Back Slang’ where I lived. You would put ends of words in front of beginnings to form a language that not many other people could understand. That’s the reason for the E-Bab references!)

I think it is funny that I thought that John was lovely to me  – breathing all over me! That was the day that S*** had turned up. The first time after she stole the Prince tickets off me. I remember that no-one talked to her. She stood on her own. She didn’t really come near Duran either. I think that was the last time I saw her with Duran. I still saw her at school, but she wasn’t my friend anymore. Sad isn’t it? See kids – don’t try to impress people by stealing something – it doesn’t work and loses you friends!

I don’t seem to have a camera on the Abbey Road days. My nan must have been on holiday this summer as I didn’t own my own camera – just borrowed my nan’s disc camera! I had pictures done on these days but I don’t have the pictures. I must have never gotten copies of them. If you were with me on these days and still have the pictures – get in touch!

Not sure about the part where Steve slaps my bum and tickles me…….erm. Not saying anymore!

Final thought. Back in those days in the UK we didn’t want to be called Duranies. Back then if you were a Duranie it meant that you were a screaming, crying fan. The group that I followed Duran with would NEVER want to be called Duranies. That was a derogatory term back then – to us anyway. We were called Duran Fans. Pure and simple. I think that maybe it was just a British thing. Whenever Duran were in the newspapers in the 80’s and they talked about fans, they called them Duranies and showed pictures of weeping hysterical girls. We weren’t like that! I know that now there are fans that are OK with the term Duranie. But I am a Duran Fan. It’s just something that has just stuck from those days. No offence to people calling themselves Duranies. That is absolutely fine with me! This is why I so scathingly put that Rae was behaving like a ‘Duranie’ because she cried when she couldn’t get to John. It meant she was crying and hysterical – something that a Duran Fan would never do!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

6 responses to “26, 27, 28 August 1986 – You Say Duranie, I say Duran Fan

  • kaz

    TEe hee Michelle, amend that last email I sent you and replace Duranie with Duran Fan! I can see why you wouldn’t have wanted to be associated with that term and all the hysteria back then.

  • Amanda

    Finally! Someone has explained to me why some people don’t like the term “Duranie”. I can understand wanting to differentiate oneself from fans who seem a little…overly emotional.

    • thedurandiaries

      Hey Amanda. I thought about you and Rhonda when I wrote this diary entry. I didn’t want to upset anyone with my entry as I call my friend a ‘Duranie’ and not in a nice way!. The UK press used to do features on Duran and along with that mention half crazed fans, screaming and crying. The press called those fans ‘Duranies’ hence why we didn’t want to be called a Duranie. I hope you both understand, along with anyone else who calls themselves a Duranie. I really really didn’t want to offend anyone – it’s just the way it was! X

  • Amanda

    No offense taken. We had heard that some people didn’t like the term and no one gave us a reason. Now we know! Do some people still feel that way, do you think?

  • Rhonda

    Honestly, I embrace the term PURELY because I know that at the time back in the 80’s it was meant as derogatory. I knew that then, I know it now. I also know the UK fans hate the term, generally speaking. To honest, that’s why I like the name, because in my opinion, it’s a play (and a reminder) on taking the fan thing too seriously. Does that make sense?

    I’m not sure if Amanda knows that’s why I liked the name “Daily Duranie”…but I knew when we were talking about names for the blog, that one came to mind because I felt like it was a good play and that some might actually find the irony, especially since a lot of times I’m pointing out the ridiculous behavior in the fan community. That said, she and I both call most Duran fans “Duranies”. I’ll just let that speak on it’s own. -Rhonda 🙂

Leave a Reply

