20th & 22nd May 1987 – Wembley/Cafe De Paris/Heathrow

Wembley Arena 20th May

The concert was great! I had a laugh but my legs really ache. Everything went great, the screens, the sign ‘Hotel No Vacancy’. Everything.

I went to the after show party at Cafe De Paris in Leicester Square. Steve and Jacqui were really sweet to me. I got a kiss on either side of my cheek from them. Steve told me he would be at the airport on Friday at around 11.

Heathrow 22nd May

I missed Steve! I can’t believe it!!!He said ‘Give Michelle a big kiss from me!’ Sweet!

John was nice too. I don’t know what to say – I’m upset! I won’t see Steve again until September – maybe.

John Taylor Heathrow Airport May 22nd 1987 COPYRIGHT MICHELLE COLDWELL-SIMONS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTES ABOUT THIS ENTRY

This was the first after show party I had been to. Please note how much I had written about it. HARDLY ANYTHING! Everyone wants to get into these after shows, but in reality they are full of friends, family, industry people, hangers-on and occasionally – FANS!

Sometimes you got to hang out with Duran. This time I hung out with Steve and Jacqui who must have put me on the guest list for this one. I will be writing about other after show parties I have been to – some of which were really fun! This one obviously wasn’t much to write home about! I don’t even remember it! It’s not as if I drank and have forgotten because I didn’t drink then. I am really annoyed at my 16-year-old self for not writing more about this aftershow!!

Getting to the airport and missing Duran happened a lot. We very rarely got absolute definite flight details, so being told by Steve that he was leaving at around 11 was the nearest to getting the flight numbers! And I missed him! At least one of my friends passed on a message from him, which was sweet. I saw John that day but no one else from Duran according to my diary. After this there was a break as Duran must have been on tour for the next four months as my next diary entry isn’t until September…….

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

One response to “20th & 22nd May 1987 – Wembley/Cafe De Paris/Heathrow

  • kaz

    Nothing to say about the after show party! shame on your teenage self! sounds great though, imagine if you’d been a few years older, wink wink x

Leave a Reply

