When MTV Played Music – MTV’s Most Wanted – 17th March 1995

MTV Studios Camden NW1

Blimey, can you believe I still write in this diary?

Well, the story goes like this. I have been faxing Ray Coke’s – the presenter of MTV’s Most Wanted for days trying to get Sam, Frank, Amy, Jo, Julie and me onto the show to watch. In the end it turned out that only Frank, Amy and I really wanted to go.

I got to the studio’s after work (around 6.05pm) and only Warren had arrived. John arrived about 15 minutes later and immediately looked at us and said ‘WOW! What a blast from the past! I can’t believe it!’  So we chatted for about 30 seconds (!). I told him he looked tired etc etc and then he went in. It was superb that he remembers us.

Then Simon arrived like a drunk or something. He didn’t recognise anyone, he just said ‘Happy St Patrick’s Day – UP THE IRISH!’ and went in.

Nick came last (some things never change!) he too recognised us and was shocked to see us.

We then hung around for Ray Cokes to see if he would get us in. He came along at around 7.15. I said ‘Hang on Ray, can I have a word?’ then he said he was running late. So I said ‘I sent you loads of faxes to see if we can come and and see Duran, could you let us in?’ He said he would try and that he would need to get permission. We tried but to no avail!

So we went to George and Nikki’s Greasy Spoon for hot food and drink coz it is fucking freezing!

We went back to the studio’s. Whilst at the cafe we had each written a little note on a Channel 4 notepad I had saying how we wished we could see them more often but these days we were working and busy etc etc. When John came out I handed it to him saying ‘Read this John!’ he said ‘Thanks.’ Simon followed, seemingly out of his head. Then he saw Frank.  AND HE SCREAMED!

‘OH MY GOD FRAAAANK! Brilliant! You know it is a good day when Frank comes to see you!’ Frank was so gobsmacked!

Anyway dear diary. Duran will be appearing on The Word, a shite programme next Friday. Frank and I have tickets for Adam Ant on the same day so I don’t think we can make it.

NINE YEARS I HAVE KEPT THIS DIARY!!!!! 

NOTES ON THIS ENTRY

At the time of writing this entry I worked for a TV magazine in Camden. The conference room had a direct view of the MTV building. (Before MTV it was TVAM). It was very handy for me as the studio’s were literally a 3 minute walk away. AND I sent faxes! Lots of FAXES! Back in those days that was the height of sophistication! I thought I was pretty special being the only one of the old gang that had tried to get us in to MTV! It didn’t work though!

Does anyone remember when MTV played music video’s and had Music Related TV shows on their schedule? I used to love Most Wanted and Ray Cokes used to make me laugh. I found a clip on youtube from that day and when I watched it back I was in hysterics. There are some telling points in the clip, especially when you think about my thoughts on Simon’s drunkeness and John being tired looking! If you can’t see the clip in this blog then please go on youtube and search Duran Duran Bingo Wall Of Death. You will love it!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

