1st July 2007 – Princess Diana Would Have Loved It!

Wembley Stadium Princess Diana Memorial Concert

We had really high up seats. It’s the first time I have been to the ‘new’ Wembley Stadium and it is impressive. But out seats are REALLY REALLY HIGH! I felt a bit giddy to be honest! Couldn’t really concentrate on the show, couldn’t tell you what songs they did or anything!

We wandered around the stadium for a bit and after a while managed to get into the after show…..

It was surreal! I actually met Prince William! Frank and I had pictures done although mine ended up being with a whole load of blondes! The after show area was really lavish. The bar looked amazing and above our heads there were scantily clad acrobats on long satin ropes! MAD!

I also met someone who I have loved since the Lost Boys – Keifer Sutherland! It was quite by chance. I went to the outside area to have a cigarette. No-one else I was with smoked so I went on my own. After my cigarette I went back in the building and standing in this stairwell was Kiefer! He was chatting to people and having pictures done. I didn’t have my camera with me just my phone so I asked someone if they wouldn’t mind taking a picture for me. They were really rude! They said no! Kiefer overheard this and looked at this other man and said ‘Would you mind taking a picture for this lady please?’ of course this man obliged! What a lovely man! After that I thanked him and he said ‘No problem’ and then held a door open for me and let me pass through first. He was such a gentleman! When I got back I told Jo who I was with too and she was so annoyed she didn’t get to meet Kiefer too! I was so chuffed.

Had a picture with Jason Orange from Take That. Saw other famous people wandering around. Didn’t really see Duran, although I did glimpse Nick sprawled over what looked like a huge bean bag fast asleep!

What a bizarre day!

NOTES ON THIS ENTRY

This is a very short entry considering the amount that seemed to have gone on that day. Prince William, Kiefer Sutherland, Jason Orange and Duran! Not a bad after show! I don’t really remember much except what I have written above. I do remember how brilliant Kiefer was though – such a gent. Luckily I kept the image on my phone – and it wasn’t a great  phone let me tell you – and saved it onto my computer. Even though it isn’t very good quality, I really like the picture. It’s the only time I have ever felt glad that I smoked!

20120915-210956.jpg

Kiefer and Me Princess Diana Memorial Concert July 2007 Copyright Michelle Coldwell-Simons

(I think that I also went to the Live Earth concert that Duran did the following week at Wembley Stadium but I can’t be sure! I didn’t write about it in my diary, sometimes I forgot! I don’t have another entry in my diary until 2009 and that is a brief description of seeing Duran in 2008!)

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

