02 Shepherds Bush Empire – A One Off Gig

7th March 2011

Arrive early-ish and went to Westfield Shopping Centre before going to the gig. Al was already there queueing  as she has VIP standing tickets. Andrew had seats, Sam, Julie, Amy, Frank, Kelly, Lorraine and Gary and I all had standing.

The gig was amazing. The new stuff sounded brilliant. The old stuff sounded EXCELLENT! Friends of Mine was particularly superb. Did lots of dancing, laughing, singing. It really was a fab gig. Then we went to the aftershow.

Rocks had asked me to pass on his number to Nick so I did and had a brief chat. Simon had blocked Sam on twitter. Sam had been particularly sarcastic to his tweets of late. When Sam and Simon met up he took her to one side for a chat. He had apparently been upset with her comments on twitter, so much so he blocked her! Can’t believe Sam’s sarcasm had hit him so hard. Bless. I hope he lets her tweet him again!

We had a group pic taken with Nick, then with Roger. Roger’s sons were ther as well as Nick’s daughter Tatjana. Didn’t see John but stood talking to his driver for a bit.

rogershep

It was a fun night. Gig sounded brilliant, it was vibrant and energetic. I think the band enjoyed it a lot. Going to go to a lot of the tour……Manchester, Birmingham, Brighton, Bournemouth. It’s going to be an expensive one!

Notes on this Entry

Once again reading back on diary entries for gigs annoys me! One song I mention. ONE! I really need to do a set list, or at least try to review a Duran gig but I get so excited and involved, singing and dancing with my friends that I simply forget! So hats off to all those people that do gig reviews. I wish I could stop behaving like an excited puppy for a second during gigs to do one like you!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

Leave a Reply

