Battersea Studios, London Part ???

30th June 2011

John Simon and Roger all came at the same time, so a chance for me at least to have a rare pic with all three of them. No Nick in sight sadly. Got Simon to sign an old book of mine, as a joke really for my daughter. John wanted to have a flick through it though first, bringing back memories. He saw my daughter’s name written down and said ‘Oh you and Roger have the same daughter’s names’. We don’t and we had had this conversation years before but of course JT wouldn’t remember.

Joked with Simon that he’d be back on 14 year old girls bedroom walls again soon. To which he replied ‘Where I SHOULD be!’ Laughingly.

Went for a coffee and returned to the studio  a while later. John’s driver was fixing a flat tire on his car so chatted for a while. Gela arrived but none of us went to talk to her, unsure of what her reaction would be to a bunch a middle aged women, waiting around for her husband. She probably thinks we are demented. Which we are obviously.

When they finally emerged Nick came out of the door first which was a surprise as we didn’t see him going in. Had a chat with him about his virtual 2nd life thing and about the tour. (Simon hasn’t had a voice since May) He suggested without actually saying that the European tour may be off.

Would like to think that after 25+ going to see this band there would be more camaraderie between us and the band. Sometimes, well, there’s just. Nothing. Feeling a bit like I really have stop all this.

Notes about this Entry

Seems like my love affair with Duran is petering out, doesn’t it?  I do have really bad days, months even. I haven’t done this diary for a good while as Duran simply just got on my nerves! I am sure I will have nicer entries coming up. But don’t count on it!

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

2 responses to “Battersea Studios, London Part ???

  • dailyduranie

    Have to comment to say that while I totally understand that you’d like there to be more camaraderie after 25+ years – there is even less here. Not that you don’t have the right to want or expect more, of course. Mostly I’m just saying I get it and share some of your frustration/annoyance/etc. (Wow I cannot write my feelings today without mucking it up.) I know you say that you wouldn’t expect JT to remember things, but you know – I guess I would after this long. I know he meets thousands of people, but he’s “met” you several times by this point. Yes, I have high expectations for people I care about. I’d just wish they’d feel similar. That’s why I still hang around, I guess. That’s definitely why I still blog….when I can think of something to say, that is. 🙂 -R

    • thedurandiaries

      Hi Rhonda, I guess that that diary entry and the one from the Girl Panic photo shoot just shows my frustration and I think the frustration is not just about the fact that there isn’t some sort of recognition for the time and effort that I and my other fellow Duran fans put in in going to see them over the many many years. It is like I am beating myself up about going to see them, putting myself through it every time, knowing that in reality I don’t get that much out of it. What I am expecting I don’t know. I know that I am not their friend. I don’t expect to be invited out for dinner. That’s the frustration. I don’t know WHY I keep doing it! I truly do believe that it is an addiction. Sorry aDDiction. Pure and simple. M x

Leave a Reply

