A UK Duran Fan Convention – Your Thoughts Are Required!

DURAN DURAN FAN CONVENTION 2012

Another break from the norm of the Duran Diary! But I wanted to ask you – as Duran fans – what you thought of fan conventions.

A friend of mine, Dave Stott and I were chatting (in the queue as it happens for the Duran Oxford rehearsal gig) a few weeks back. We were discussing how nice it was to meet other fans for the first time and that it would be good to do that kind of thing properly – so we could all have a chat about our mutual interests. Dave told me that around 20 years ago he had set up his own Duran Fan Convention. That got us chatting about whether or not there should be a UK Fan convention in the near future.

I would be interested to find out what these conventions are actually like – so I thought I’d throw that out to you lot. Would you mind answering a few questions on this subject? Just post it as a comment and I will show them to Dave and then he can crack on (or not I supose depending on your answers) with Duran Convention 2012!

QUESTIONS

Have you been to a fan convention before? (Duran or otherwise)

If you have was it in the UK or USA?

If you have been to a convention did you have to pay an entry fee? If so how much (ROUGHLY)?

If there was to be a Duran Fan Convention, where in the UK do you think it should be?

Would you prefer to come to a convention for a day, or have a convention/hotel/dinner package?

What sort of things would you like to see at a Duran fan convention? (Not DD themselves unfortunately!) Merchandise/DJ’s/Live Acts/Speakers?

What would you NOT want to have at a Duran fan convention?

If you have any other thoughts or ideas do let me know – then I will pass them along to Dave. After that – I will let you know the outcome! Thank you! 😉

 

 

About thedurandiaries

Long time Duran fan. Followed them since 1985 - and that means physically going to see them! I kept a diary from 1986 and thought it may be funny to write them up on a blog. And the profile picture is of the actual of diary. Yes it has Care Bear stickers on it. But this was the 80's. And Care Bears were cute. View all posts by thedurandiaries

8 responses to “A UK Duran Fan Convention – Your Thoughts Are Required!

  • Matt (Duran: The Tribute)

    There was a convention organised in 2006 and 2007, by Darran from the Duran Tribute band. The event was held at a hotel somewhere in Nottingham I think (I unfortunately wasn’t there, but have heard of the details from Daz himself). The event cost £25 a ticket I think and this covered all evening which consisted of: A sit down meal, a Duran disco and then a live performance by Duran: The Tribute, followed by the Duran themed disco again til about 1am.

    As the event was already being held at the hotel (and during a quieter time of the year) – plenty of rooms were available onsite, so if people wanted to book rooms and stay the night so they could have a drink, it was easy (this part was obviously not covered within the £25). Events were a great success from what I heard and, knowing Daz, would have been professional and well organised.

  • Amanda

    I have lots to say here! I have been to a Duran convention, which is where Rhonda and I met, actually! It was organized by members of the message board, DuranDuranFans, including Rhonda. It was held in September 2004 in New Orleans. It did cost something–I checked. It was $142. I can’t remember exactly what that included. We arrived on Friday and left on Sunday. It was held at a hotel and some meals were provided. There were Duran activities like a dinner/dance, a vendor fair, Duran games, etc.

    The convention was a ton of fun as it was a great opportunity to meet fellow fans and just enjoy Duran. It helped that it was in a fun city with lots to do. 🙂

    Amanda

  • Kirsty

    I was at 2 DD conventions in Germany in 2001 and 2003.
    The first convention was held in a hotel in Gladbeck and went over a whole weekend.
    We did karakoke, DD disco, a DD quiz, a jam session and a lot of other things. The price was about 75 €, you stay at the hotel and book a room.

    It was very special for me because it was the first time for years I met other Duran fans. In the 80s I had lots of (pen) pals in Germany and in the whoe world, but when I finished school and started working I didn’t have much time for all the pen pals and also some lost interest in DD during the years. In the 90s I thought I was the only German DD fan left out there ;-). When I got internet access I found out there still were other German fans. And also some of the fans I knew in the 80s.

    If you set a convention in the UK I would prefer London or Birmingham and I would even travel to the UK from Germany.

  • Laura

    It would be great to have a DD fan convention in London. A weekend would be good with a sit down meals, a disco with DD songs, DD quizzes, DD videos, other 80s music maybe, and merchandise.

    I have been to many Beatles conventions and fans come from all over the world and it is a great way for fans to get together.

  • jason merrett

    i would love to go to a duran convention being a fan since 81 it would have to be in birmingham or london and a weekend allrounder when i go to gigs its great meeting other fans and old freinds a good hotel meals disco fan stories stalls to buy cool duran stuff and quizzes, im sure if the u.s.a and other places can hold such meetings we here in the uk can do the same .

Leave a Reply

